Startseite > Wombel's Mac & Apple Cosmos (eng) > Hello iPhone, bye bye Treo.

Hello iPhone, bye bye Treo.

iPhone 3GOh dear… I think I’ve been reading every single news and blog article on Apple’s iPhone since Steve Job’s Keynote on WWDC on June 9th. And I come to the conclusion, that many people have not yet understood what Apple litterally has „created“.

narrow-minded

Let’s ignore those silly narrow-minded statements like „this and that feature is missing“ and „touch screen is no innovation at all“. And let’s skip those details on stereo bluetooth or amount of pixels of a built-in cam. Let’s focus on the beaf and the real story that is coming up!

iPhone 1.0? Thanks but no thanks.

Palm Treo 680Confession first: When Steve announced the iPhone 1.0 last year I was happy to see that Apple had it’s next big thing – yay! But, I wasn’t convinced. „In 2007 I expect my little to device to help me navigate, and a faster data connectivity was neat.“, I thought. So I bought a Treo 680, which manages my data and provides navigation through TomTom Navigator. „I’ll wait two years.“, my estimation was. But now, after Apple has announced the iPhone 3G last week my first thought was: „That’s it! That’s the perfect device I’ve been waiting for. They did read my wish list“. Cool phone, MacOS X inside, iPod, PDA and navigation capabilities on board.

Hello Mac-Fans, did you feel the same? I am sure you did!
Hello Apple-Haters, read why there is so much upbeat!

Apple continues where Palm has stopped

3Com Palm PilotAbout 10 years ago I got my first 3Com Palm Pilot – a real handy friend: Easy to use, storing addresses, memos and managing expenses. But above all that, there has been a vast number of marvelous little helpers (applications) that assisted you during the day: Birthday Manager, Thought Manager, Little Games, Document Readers, Maps or Schedules for Exibitions, Remote Control, password manager, alarm and world clock, converters (currency, measures, temperature,…), translators, … and so on. Then the Palm learned how to do phone calls: The Treo family – yay! But,  in my eyes the whole platform got stuck 2-3 years ago. I missed a real enhancement and potential for growth.

UNIX at your findertips

iPhone with OS XTo me, Apple continues the story at exactly the point where Palm has slowed down or even stopped:

  • The iPhone has a full features UNIX-based OS X inside – a literally high producing fundament, that allowes application development in any direction you can imagine: Navigation, Education, Business, Entertainment, Media, … Due to the SDK we’ll see hundreds and thousands of new innovative, modern applications (like we saw on PalmOS end of the 1990’s) on a state-of-the-art operating system.
  • iPhone provides unprecedented ergonomics and easy to use GUI
  • After 12 months Apple releases a full-featured device (3G, GPS, modern OS, cool GUI, 3rd party apps) – while other players, that have been on the mobile market for 5, 8 or 10 years, have not been able to ship such a device yet.
  • Apple is seriously focussing the enterprise market
  • Admitting that the industry is generating demand too (they all do): Apple has understood what people want beeing mobile, they understood how to make technology easy to use – and they are fast.

New room for growth and visions
Navigation 2.0

Even more – American thinking – the iPhone allures new buisness models, visions and new way of making money and it will bring us new (or at least improved) services: Imagine your navigation system is showing current weather information layered on your route  , like rain, ice or storm. Or imagine you’re in a foreign city and your cell iphone directs you to the local steak house or drug store or starts a guided tour with you.
Have you understood the iPhone?
I ordered an iPhone 3G 🙂
  1. 12. Juli 2008 um 3:34 am

    I think the iPhone is an awesome product that has amazing potential. It will be interesting to see what developers come up with for the iPhone OS.

  2. cosariocartaya
    1. November 2008 um 2:27 pm

    Hello friends, congratulations by blog.
    I recommend you that at the time of buying a GPS you buy one of quality and not any cheap thing that you that way see, to my I go that with blueetoh and in the end I had it to change by one good one, now I have a GPS that is of the best and the updates are most comfortable to do, if it interests and you are looking for a GPS to you I recommend one to you like mine, I give the connection you so that you prune it to compare with others.

    http://www.g3-shopping.info/gpsnavigator.html

  3. 17. September 2009 um 3:59 am

    Hello iPhone bye bye trio i won’t miss you 🙂

  4. 17. März 2010 um 5:38 pm

    Find ich gut, das habe ich so noch garnicht gesehen. Danke für den Tipp! Dafür liebe ich das Web, dass man einfach auf solche coolen Tipps stößt :-). Vielen Dank nochmal und schönen Gruß, Gerlinde Petersen

  5. Paki Torstof
    3. Februar 2011 um 7:19 am

    Ich bemerke gerade in diesem Moment dass ich webwombel.wordpress.com deutlich öfter lesen müsste 🙂 – da komme ich echt auf krasse Einfälle

  6. 3. Mai 2011 um 4:28 pm

    Wahnsinn! Das hatte ich niemals geglaubt 🙂

  7. 3. Dezember 2012 um 4:23 am

    The main reason of course is in connection with the amount it will take from your pocket.
    The men’s Burberry watches have more of a practical style to them. Each person has their own idea, of course, of what they consider luxury, or high-end, probably depending on their own means.

  8. 6. Dezember 2012 um 4:24 pm

    Their large ears, and small mouths are a reminder to listen more than we speak.
    Pets as presents seem like a great idea, but the logistics of owning a pet came be very tricky.
    Favorite thing about the Holidays.

  9. 25. April 2013 um 11:55 am

    I am regular visitor, how are you everybody? This post posted
    at this site is actually pleasant.

  10. 11. Mai 2013 um 1:08 am

    Greate article. Keep posting such kind of info on your page.

    Im really impressed by your blog.
    Hey there, You’ve performed an excellent job. I will certainly digg it and for my part recommend to my friends. I’m sure they will
    be benefited from this site.

  11. 7. Juni 2013 um 1:22 pm

    I was curious if you ever considered changing the structure of your site?
    Its very well written; I love what youve got to say.
    But maybe you could a little more in the way of content so people could
    connect with it better. Youve got an awful lot of text for
    only having one or 2 images. Maybe you could space it out
    better?

  12. 19. Juni 2013 um 12:37 am

    Howdy! Someone in my Facebook group shared this website with us so I came to check it out.
    I’m definitely enjoying the information. I’m bookmarking and will be tweeting this to my followers!

    Superb blog and fantastic design and style.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Kommentar verfassen

